A Note From the Director

Fall 2015

Welcome to Texas A&M University!

And…  Welcome to the Student Counseling Service (SCS) Web Page!

I hope that you'll take some time to discover the variety of services and programs that we offer and take advantage of those you think might be helpful. You may register for most of our services right here on our website.  Services are free to current TAMU students although we do charge a $25 fee for a missed appointment that is not cancelled 24 hours in advance. We are funded primarily by your dollars through the University Advancement Fee (UAF), so please use what you've funded! We want to do our part to help you have the best possible experience during your time at Texas A&M University. Why are our programs helpful for students? Well, we offer a little bit of everything including individual, couple, and group counseling, as well as crisis intervention, outreach, consultation, psychiatric services (for those currently receiving counseling at the SCS), substance abuse treatment, and mentoring. Our workshops are timely and extremely informative, a list of current offerings is available on this website. Not sure what to major in?  Our career testing can help you figure that out.  Our staff of psychologists, psychiatrists, and counselors is knowledgeable and friendly; many are recognized experts in their own field of interest. You may find out a bit about each of them by reading their brief biographies, also found here. Additionally, information shared with an SCS professional is treated confidentially and in accordance with Texas State law.

Thanks for checking out our website. I hope you found it interesting and informative.  If you have suggestions for improvement, please let me know.  And if there's anything that I can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact me. I truly hope you have a wonderful and fulfilling experience at Texas A&M University; however, if you need help or just want to do better, please call on us at the Student Counseling Service.


Maggie Gartner, Ph.D., Executive Director